#FindPassion.

“Dive in. That’s how you find your passion.”

_MG_1577

_MG_1590

This past Saturday was the Find and Follow Your Passion conference hosted by NY Creative Interns. Creative professionals from companies like AOL to Nickelodeon to Foursquare were willing to spend their Saturday at this event to speak and inspire young creatives like myself. I attended the first Find Passion conference they held last year and it was an amazing experience. It was such an honor to be able to attend again, network with people and be one of the photographers to document the event.

The opening keynote speech was given by Gary Vaynerchuk and I can’t think of anyone else more perfect to start the day off. Gary is a talented entrepreneur, self-trained social media expert, and a best selling author. His talk was far from the typical opening speech but it was so real. He spoke realistically and didn’t sugar coat anything, but still provided solid advice on how to succeed in doing what you love. One of my favorite things I took away from his speech was to “play the game any way you want, but the most important thing is to know yourself.

_MG_1661

The sessions I attended were Who Recruiters Hire, Learn How to Make It On Your Own, Creative Entrepreneurs, and Career Growth Tips for Creatives. There were so many valuable tips and tricks I gained from these sessions, it’s insane. I could go on and on about what I learned in each discussion, but this little blog post would turn into a novel. So instead, I’ll just include some of my favorite pieces of advice. If you want to see more little tidbits of what I and others took away from these sessions, just look up the #FindPassion hashtag on Twitter. I felt like I was serial tweeting and blowing up everyone’s Twitter feeds on Saturday, but why not inspire others right?

_MG_1699

Don’t be afraid to be the change that you want to be.

_MG_1742

Fuck fear. Just go for it.

_MG_1768

Do something for free that’s worth it to put yourself out there.

_MG_1794

If you want opportunities, ask for them and earn them.

_MG_1816

Make yourself uncomfortable to the point that you learn something from it.

This years Find and Follow Your Passion conference was awesome. It was literally just what I needed at this time in my life. Being around creative professionals and people in the same boat as I am was so inspiring. This conference definitely gave me a push in the right direction and the motivation to find and follow my passion. (Too cheesy?)

If you want to see more photos from the event or more information about future events, be sure to check out the NY Creative Interns Facebook page!

About stephaniebanares

Photographer based in NJ/NY. Recent grad from the School of Visual Arts with a BFA in Photography. Currently a freelance photographer at Makerbot Industries and the photo/design assistant at Small Girls PR.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

