Updates.

Well. It’s been almost a month since I wrote that last blog post which obviously shows how much of a dedicated “blogger” I am. I wish I could say I’ve just been too busy to post, but I’m not entirely sure if sitting at home watching Friends and looking for jobs (that I don’t get around to applying for) counts as busy. But when I wasn’t being a bum, May was actually a really eventful month.

MAY 10; I graduated college at Radio City Music Hall! It was surreal and I still haven’t quite wrapped my head around it. We also don’t need to talk about how I basically look the same as how I looked when I graduated high school..

2008 and 2012. Yeah, I don’t see much of a difference. Either way, I still can’t believe it’s over and I still see myself as a kid. I’m not sure how to be an adult, but hopefully I’ll learn that along the way.

MAY 12; I turned 22 and celebrated at the Delancey in New York.

I woke up the next morning with no voice, scratches & bruises and a very foggy recollection of what happened the night before. I failed to go “all out” on my 21st birthday and so I guess I decided I should make up for it this year.

Later that day, I had a birthday and graduation party at my house. It was pretty much a party for my parents given the fact that the majority of our guests were their friends. But regardless of that, I had a good time. Mainly because my parents surprised me with the best present of all time.

With the entire party staring at me, I wasn’t entirely sure how to react. But my baby is beautiful and I’m obsessed with her. I’ve had the name Nelly (short for Finally!) in my head for years and now I can finally use it. Now I can actually go places without relying on my parents or friends. And it also gives me a reason to get over my fear of the highway. Meep.

MAY 17; I went to France for 10 days!

There is no way I can even begin to describe how beautiful France was. Out of the 3000 pictures that my dad and I took combined, I figured the Eiffel Tower is one of the most iconic structures that everyone would immediately recognize. Our tour went all around France for a week so my parents and I were able to explore places other than just Paris. There wasn’t a single place that didn’t meet my expectations.

Like, AGH. Look at how amazing that is. Out of all the churches we went to, Sacre Coeur was obviously the most stunning. Absolutely everything was just breathtaking and I miss it. Returning to New York with its dirty streets and cigarette smoke and plain buildings was like a rude awakening. I have serious France withdrawl. Meh.

MAY 28; The day after I came home from France, I reached three years with the love of my life. : )

For the first time in three years, we were finally able to celebrate an anniversary together. Of course we forget to take a picture together, but whatever. Our day wasn’t anything spectacular but I couldn’t have asked for anything more. He took me to the place he asked me out, which definitely showed a lot of dedication given the fact that he asked me out on the beach, on Memorial Day. Cue awkward 19 year old Jude & Steph.

The amount of people was a little overwhelming and a lot different than our quiet midnight beach adventure three years ago. But it was a lot of fun to people watch and the house music playing from a restaurant rooftop really set the mood, haha. We ended the night with a candle lit dinner (minus the candle) and caught up over a couple bottles of wine. It was really simple but I loved it.

All of these things deserved their own post, but since it’s already June, this’ll have to do. I’ll try my best commit to this blog because I don’t want to rely on these monthly updates. With that said, May was obviously very exciting and I hope that the rest of my summer is the same.

About stephaniebanares

Photographer based in NJ/NY. Recent grad from the School of Visual Arts with a BFA in Photography. Currently a freelance photographer at Makerbot Industries and the photo/design assistant at Small Girls PR.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

